Are Pumpkin Seeds Kosher for Passover

Pumpkin seeds are a beloved snack at my house. They’re great in salads, on omelets, and of course I like to eat them as they are with some nothing but salt. But my husband is not able to eat them, because they’re not kosher for Passover. Now I know that pumpkin seeds are also known as pepitas, which makes them seem like they would be a natural fit for an edible article. And in truth, some pepitas are kosher for Passover.

What Is Passover?

Passover is the Jewish festival that commemorates the Exodus of the Israelites from Egypt. It takes place on the 15th day of Nisan in the Hebrew calendar, which usually falls in March or April. The festival lasts for seven days and features many special foods, including unleavened bread and bitter herbs.

In addition to the holiday itself, there are also several other traditions associated with Passover. Many Jews avoid eating any leavened products during this period as a reminder of how their ancestors fled Egypt with no time to let bread rise before leaving.

For people who observe kosher laws, this means avoiding wheat products during Passover, since most bakeries use wheat flour in their products. Some people choose not to consume any grains at all during this time; others just avoid bread products made from wheat flour.

Pumpkin seeds are small brown seeds found inside pumpkins after they are carved and roasted. They’re usually sold as a snack food or added to salads and soups. Pumpkin seeds are considered kosher pareve (neutral), which means they can be eaten with any type of food without needing an additional kashrut certification

Pumpkin Seeds Are a Popular Snack

Pumpkin seeds are a popular snack and can be found in many stores. While pumpkin seeds are not inherently kosher, they can be made kosher for Passover.

Pumpkin seeds are one of the most used foods that are not kosher for Passover. They must be checked carefully to ensure that no chametz (leavened grain) is present.

There are two main types of pumpkin seeds: pepitas and hulled pumpkin seeds. Pepitas are the green outer shell of the seed, which can be eaten without checking for chametz. Hulled pumpkin seeds are white, with a thin skin covering them. Hulled pumpkin seeds must be checked for chametz as well as possible insect infestation, but once again these can be made kosher for Passover through careful inspection.

Questionable Ingredients

Pumpkin seeds are not considered a Passover food. The main reason for this is that, like other legumes, pumpkin seeds contain small amounts of the protein called lectin. Lectins are found in many grains and legumes. They can cause irritation to the lining of the stomach and intestines if consumed in large quantities.

In addition, because pumpkin seeds are often eaten raw, they may be contaminated with other foods such as peanuts or tree nuts that contain aflatoxins — a type of toxin that can cause cancer in humans. While it’s true that there haven’t been any cases of people getting sick from eating raw pumpkin seeds during Passover, it’s best to play it safe and avoid them altogether during this holiday.

Pumpkin seeds are not considered a Passover food. The main reason for this is that, like other legumes, pumpkin seeds contain small amounts of the protein called lectin. Lectins are found in many grains and legumes. They can cause irritation to the lining of the stomach and intestines if consumed in large quantities.

In addition, because pumpkin seeds are often eaten raw, they may be contaminated with other foods such as peanuts or tree nuts that contain aflatoxins — a type of toxin that can cause cancer in humans. While it’s true that there haven’t been any cases of people getting sick from eating raw pumpkin seeds during Passover, it’s best to play it safe and avoid them altogether during this holiday.

Usually Safe, As Long as They Are Kosher-Certified

Pumpkin seeds are usually safe if they are kosher-certified.

The most common problem with pumpkin seeds is that they’re pre-packaged in a way that makes it hard to tell whether they’ve been checked for bugs. The solution is to look for a kosher-certified label on the package, which will tell you that the company has been inspected and approved by a rabbi.

If you’re buying from a farmer’s market or directly from a farmer, you can ask about his or her process for checking the seeds for bugs. If he or she doesn’t know what you’re talking about, then ask if he or she uses certified seeds (which will be labeled as such).

Are Pumpkin Seeds Kosher for Passover

Yes, pumpkin seeds are Kosher for Passover. In fact, they are one of the few seeds that are kosher for Passover.

The reason is because pumpkin seeds are not actually seeds at all, but rather the endosperm of a seed. This means that they don’t require any processing in order to be kosher for Passover and can be eaten raw or cooked at any time during the year.

Pumpkin seeds do not require any special treatment before or after they have been harvested (aside from picking them up off the ground).

Conclusion

Some pumpkin seeds aren’t kosher for Passover. If a pumpkin had a true cavity rather than simply being hollowed out, then the seeds aren’t fit for Jews to eat on Passover. All pumpkins have the potential to have seeds inside of them, making them unfit for Jews to consume. Often the pumpkins are hollowed out in order to help carve jack-o-lanterns. These pumpkins would be alright for eating during Passover since the seeds don’t develop until after the pumpkin is dead and has undergone decomposition.

 

Related Posts